Pinterest epiphany.

“A ship is always safe at shore, but that is not what it’s built for.”

     ~ Albert Einstein

As I was wandering through the various categories of Pinterest I stumbled upon this collection of words. A beautiful quote that spoke to me in such a way that I had to share it. 

In the past two weeks I began to take another swing at schooling. I decided on one class that would not overwhelm me over the Summer and would allow me to do a little traveling without it affecting too much of my grade. Titled, “Intro to Hospitality,” I thought it was ideal considering the fact that it is indeed my choice of major and I will eventually need to take the course to earn my degree.

Day One I was hooked. Clinging onto every word that was being projected from my professor’s vocal chords. He went into detail about the amount of opportunity that lies ahead and drilled into the fact that we have so much room to experiment and grow within this career field and we should be taking advantage of any experience made available to us.

This is the first time in a long while that I have felt genuinely motivated to get moving and venture onto the path towards my dream career. That is what this class has done for me, it has encouraged me to take my ship away from the shore. 

Such a funny thing life can be. We can become so consumed in the madness that we forget to really live. Well, I want to live. I want to be able to lying there and just go through my mental photographs of all the breathtaking places I’ve been. Meeting people from all over the world and experiencing their cultures. Tasting food that I cannot pronounce the name of and jumping of rugged cliffs into crystal clear sea water. This is what I want for my life, this is what I will have. 

“A ship is always safe at shore, but that is not what it’s built for.” Let that sink into your soul. Where is it that you have wanted to go? Not even in the aspect of travel, but in life. Did you come to the fork in the road and choose the safer route? If being alive for twenty-two years has taught me anything of real value so far it is that it is never too late to start over and tomorrow is never a guarantee. 

There is just some sort of fulfillment missing within my own life that seems to only be restored through travel. An unfamiliar place that will allow me to not only explore the surrounding area but also allow me to explore within myself. 

Thankfully this coming Saturday I will be traveling off to yet another area of the world that I have never seen before. A cruise is seen by most as a great vacation opportunity, for me it is nothing but a blessing and a curse. A blessing in the sense that I will be able to yet again visit a place I have never been to before. The curse? The curse is that by going onto this trip and seeing what these lavish, tropical locations have to offer will only further my mind into a wanderlust induced coma where I lose all sense of everyday life all together. It is a love that will never cease to grow and it is the passion that will one day lead me into a career that most can only dream of. 

One day, I’ll get there. 

 

 

 

Say a little something...